Dead Men Tell No Tales: The Keesler Saga IV: Foreshadowing

What is Dead Men Tell No Tales? It is a selection of (hitherto) undisclosed, private ruminations and epiphanies. Most take the form of (slightly) edited letters to unnamed recipients, but some have been scavenged from the depths of private journals recently rediscovered. Over the next little while (however long it takes – days, weeks, months, years?) I’ll be posting them in episodic fashion for the reading pleasure of my nonexistent audience.

In The Keesler Saga, our melancholy author reflects on his experiences at his MOS School. Foreshadowing is aptly named as it is the last journal entry for a long time (and second to last overall); I just have a hard time with these things.
Haven’t been as studious in updating this as I wanted to be. I can’t even remember what we did on that last PT I bitched about; I know Echo Five Hotel led it, and he’s pretty quick…oh yeah! We went to the fucking beach! We ran off base and down to the beach, did a bunch of running in sand and other crazy shit, then we came back. It sucked, of course. Anyway.
For the longest damn time, my roomate has been a whiny shitbaggy slut. He’s finally getting kicked out (he claims that his parents used to beat the shit out of him while he was sleeping, so he has PTSD, and he’s “mentally unfit for service”) so that’s great. He’s always extremely disrespectful to NCOs and just about anyone. That’s been degrading my motivation and will to keep this journal and what not.
Tomorrow we’re supposed to be “killed” at PT again. Today was pretty bad – we did log drills, and the log fucked my shoulder all up. It’s like my shoulder has blisters that are popping, because it’s oozing and shit, but that’s just from the log rubbing on it. I had a headache all day after PT, probably from the log bouncing against my head, and I just wanted to sleep all day… but we had field day (which means cleaning before the 1830 formation) followed by mandatory study at a cafe across the street from the barracks for about an hour followed by me having to go get chows for the platoon… I got about an hour nap and cleaned at around 1730 and just had chow at the cafe. The nap took some of the edge off of the headache.
Weekend’s coming up. Oorah!
Leave a Reply

