Cat’s in the cradle and the silver spoon

Been putting this off for a little while; like I said before, I don’t much like to write these days. In any case, and without further ado:

Three events ocurred which caused me to actually start pounding out this entry. The first was a while ago, but it was an observation I had. Rachel was up late one night on Facebook when I was on also, and we started chatting. I honestly don’t remember about what, much, but a little ways into the conversation, she asked if she could confide in me. Well, why the hell not, I thought, and out busted Captain Free Therapist. Shit was going bad in her relationship, and I gave her some advice and things turned out good (or so I hear).
Situations like that suck. What am I supposed to do? I know she’s not at all interested in me (who is or would be these days?) but that doesn’t stop me from being interested in her. So all I’m doing is helping her be more distant. Not too big a deal, since I’m still hung up over Sara anyway. These other girls, I try to imagine something with them just so I can try to pull myself past Sara, but it never works much anyway. To corroborate my suspicions, I think I’ve talked to her all of once since helping her out. Sweet.
Second thing that happened was that I was expecting a call on Saturday that never came from a person who generally keeps her word but has been slipping lately. Feels like the final straw on the camel’s back to me; I know my place and I know when I’ve outlived my welcome. So there’s another person down the crapper lately. Chalk her up next to Katie.
Finally, Megan apparently got engaged. Holy fuck? So that’s another person gone, pretty much. 
It’s funny because I told Kelsey “the cat’s in the cradle and the silver spoon” in reference to her failing to call me, yet that pretty much applies to me as well. Great song. I let things just pass me by, I guess. Maybe more of this is my fault than theirs. Alas.
One thought on “Cat’s in the cradle and the silver spoon

  1. Since when would this even possibly be your fault?… obviously, you offered to help out this chick- that was your own decision. Again, it doesn't mean it's your fault though. I'd take it as a compliment that somebody asked for your help- maybe she trusts your advice. I think it's kinda dumb she stopped talking to you afterward though… with no thank yous or whatnot. PEOPLE ARE UNGRATEFUL. That's the world. Or America, anyway.

Leave a Reply

