Introducing: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Hello, nonexistant audience.

It’s been a long while since I’ve really been a good blogger. I don’t update very often, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking. Recently, I’ve been trying to organize the history of my life and collect it all in one convenient location – this blog – and to that end I am starting  a new feature here. It is called Dead Men Tell No Tales; reason being, if I were dead, I wouldn’t be able to tell any tales! No, seriously though, it is because otherwise these stories and thoughts would be lost to time, and I think they are (at the very least) articulate accounts of my thoughts and feelings at the time of writing.
I will be posting them according to when I wrote them, so they shouldn’t show up on the main page; however, every time I complete a new DMTNT episode, I will write a quick post with links so you can enjoy the new content. The first such episode, my side of a debate with LW, is up. (I don’t include HER letters because I feel as though it violates her privacy, and that is also why I don’t fully name her.) 
Without further ado:
3 thoughts on “Introducing: Dead Men Tell No Tales

  1. First of all, as I've mentioned to you before, I love your perspective on realism. Although one can claim your view on realism to be just a matter of opinion, I trust you are being rational and objective because just about every other view of yours is fully supported with evidence (it just… makes sense.)

    I have a question for you too. You say, “… I do not think that there is a single person who can truly and fully comprehend both love and hatred at the same time.” However, you also say, “I have no god damn idea what love is or was. All I ever saw was hatred …” Although you only say you do not think you know what love is (or isn't,) I'm wondering how you can make- may I call it, a claim- about love at all when you say you don't understand it in the slightest… I'm not trying to argue, I was just wondering because the two statements seem to contradict each other.

    I don't think anybody can explain to you why you have been betrayed so much except for those who have betrayed you- but if they betrayed you in the first place, there isn't a chance they're going to be honest and confront you about anything. Maybe they are/were afraid. Maybe you're right and you're too mature for your age- your peers then couldn't handle you… at the same time, your elders, like your brother and your mom and your dad also betrayed you… so maybe you just have a firmer grip on your life more than you think. People resent authority, a “sureness” of oneself, perhaps because they're jealous and they hate being wrong even if they're not conscious of it. It's in their subconscious, but their conscious mind responds to it negatively. It's all that psychology crap, blah bah.

    I think you're somebody anyone can look up to even though you said you were “… buying into my mom's bullshit about being worthless and unlovable.” The fact that you left your household is one step forward, even if people may think otherwise. I personally think it's a step forward because you don't deserve to be in that environment- somebody smart like you doesn't deserve unnecessary punishment (though, it could also be true that you grew more wise from unnecessary punishment.)

    I don't understand why people DON'T look up to you more. Deep down, you're probably one of the smartest people you know- maybe it's just me, but real wisdom is gained from personal experience… not just a matter of observing other people suffer or succeed… and for that, you deserve like fifty gold stars. Or better.

    People can't understand hatred because these days, people are raised in a stupid hippie environment in which people must love one another… okay, maybe that's not always the case, but people are fucking ignorant. I actually wrote a note on Facebook saying how ignorance is bliss, and upon breaking the “ignorance barrier” reality fucks everyone over. Yeah.

    Again, I don't think you are pessimistic- this goes back to your view on reality. I can't say people don't get reality because they have a good life… but maybe good life can be defined as being as sheltered as possible. Sheltered meaning raising their kids to be pussies. It's like kids with allergies. Maybe it's heredity, but I don't think parents throw their kids out to play in the dirt anymore to build up their immune system… but if I develop more on that I'm going to ramble and go off-topic…

    ANYWAYS.

    I like this entry. Although I like your blog in general, DMTNT shows a lot of insight really concisely (the insight through the rest of your blog is more of a progressive thing, idk.)

  2. ” You say, “… I do not think that there is a single person who can truly and fully comprehend both love and hatred at the same time.” However, you also say, “I have no god damn idea what love is or was. All I ever saw was hatred …” Although you only say you do not think you know what love is (or isn't,) I'm wondering how you can make- may I call it, a claim- about love at all when you say you don't understand it in the slightest… I'm not trying to argue, I was just wondering because the two statements seem to contradict each other.”

    I don't see how they're contradictory. I say that it is impossible to understand both at once, and then I elaborate and say I have a clear grasp of hatred and no grasp of love. Pretty straight forward.

Leave a Reply

