The Fullness of Time (Part 2) – Despair

[Standard Disclaimer: This analysis represents only my personal interpretation of the lyrical content of Redemption’s suite, The Fullness of Time, and is not representative of the opinions of either the band or any affiliated persons involved in the production of Redemption’s music; past, present or future.]

This is the second of four posts on Redemption’s musical suite, The Fullness of Time. It is a lyrical dissection of the second track, Despair, which is the most straightforward of the four tracks. There is a smooth musical transition between all tracks in this suite, which represents part of the overarching concept – that this is a journey through Man’s emotional response to women’s betrayal of him.

I know, talking about emotions breaks man law, but stay with me.

The first verse:

Left now
Alone with your betrayal
There’s no way to feel secure
Anymore
Broken
Crushed in soul and spirit
With no way to set things right again

This represents, to me, an honest and private response to what has happened to Man. In public, he may show his Rage, and perhaps even initially he will feel that Rage in private. Eventually, however, it seems inevitable that Despair will set in as the true nature of the betrayal settles upon his mind. After all, he is “left alone” with “no way to feel secure; crushed in soul and spirit with no way to set things right again.” I have never been taken over the coals in the divorce court but I know some of our readers have (and my sympathies go out to you) – I imagine these lyrics might resonate with your situation? I’ve felt hopeless and despaired after suffering betrayals at the hands of women, and I wasn’t even invested significantly (like a marriage) or standing to lose anything substantial (as in a divorce) when I was betrayed!

Rage comes first, but it melts away into Despair.

The chorus:

Gone
You have stolen everything I ever had
And I’m left with nothing more than pain
And I know I’ll never trust the way that I once did
You have taken all my dreams
And turned them to ashes in my mouth

This seems to speak almost directly to those men who’ve gone through a bitter divorce or custody battle. Doesn’t it feel as though that woman you’ve trusted – the one who seemed friendly but put that kinfe in your back – has made off with everything of value you ever had (sometimes to include, most bitterly, your own children) and all you have left is pain? It also seems common for men to resolve to never “trust the way that [they] once did,” after women kill their dreams of domestic tranquility.

Final verse:

Starving
Searching for some comfort
Left to choke on my despair
Blinded
My faith and friendship shattered
And my life beyond repair

I think we men have all been seeking commiseration and unity from like-minded men. That’s why sites like The Spearhead have been cropping up. Without sites like these, we may have all been stuck in a perpetual cycle of Rage and Despair. The betrayals we’ve gone through, individually (I’m almost certain every male reader here has gone through some sort of betrayal – some only minor, some only major, and the rest somewhere in between) may have even shattered our faith and friendship. After all, the effects of feminism seemed to have led to a decline of religion (faith) and fraternity/men’s only groups (friendship). Furthermore, it seems to have had the poisonous effect of causing men to distrust one another, viewing each other as competitors (for women) during the best of times and villains (towards women) at the worst of times.

Privately, I think we have all felt that our lives were beyond repair. When we come together collectively and apply our reason, we can see that we have all suffered similar blows, that there are systemic problems and our failures are not isolated or individual in nature. This may not help ease the pain, but it does remind us that there may be any number of solutions to our grief.

Like I said, this is the most straight forward track. Stay tuned for the final two!

3 thoughts on “The Fullness of Time (Part 2) – Despair

  1. Imported comments from web archive:

    The Fifth Horseman February 6, 2010 at 03:23
    Quotes from Jamila (a 23 year old woman who of course knows everything) :

    http://theobsidianfiles.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/are-women-more-relationship-oriented-than-men/#comment-4853

    “Divorce leaves women significantly worse off than men.”

    “Yeah some men get screwed after a divorce but the majority don’t. ”

    LOLOLOL

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    Rebel February 6, 2010 at 05:59
    @Durden:
    A most interesting post. I’m looking forward to read the next sections.

    BTW, I saved it on disk for later reference.

    Thank you for posting this.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    iron clad February 6, 2010 at 09:00
    Look before you leap….sympathy ?

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    Lethargic February 6, 2010 at 17:27
    The Fifth Horseman

    “Divorce leaves women significantly worse off than men.”

    Psychologically I believe women heal better, sooner. They have wider social circles for support to start with. Then there’s the approaches from many a man to make her feel valued again in no time. Women seem to ‘move on’ quicker I believe. In some cases you’d consider it heartless.

    Men have to renew their vigour, somehow, and will probably face many a rejection before establishing something worthwhile again. Not easy. Men are usually not in the position to just turn away advances like women. Some advances for women are unwelcome, but many women love to have a good natter about that anyway.

    Time is a healer? Maybe, but attention is the healer and women have it on tap.

    Take a divorced man and woman and stand them on a street corner for a while (or sit them in a bar). Who would get the most attention, enough stimuli to set them back on the road to recovery?

    Men are left ‘alone’ and have to start from a position that holds less opportunity for recovery. Men have to gear-up again. Men have to seek, ‘go out’, while with women, things seem to come to them, whether it be support from friends or advances from men.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    codebuster February 6, 2010 at 17:49
    @Durden

    I think we men have all been seeking commiseration and unity from like-minded men. That’s why sites like The Spearhead have been cropping up. Without sites like these, we may have all been stuck in a perpetual cycle of Rage and Despair.

    I’m not going to comment on the general applicability of Durden’s thesis. What I will say is that I like where I’m at. I like knowing what I know, knowing that I’m right. It’s a good feeling, this achievement. It’s a good feeling, seeing the absurdity and laughing at it.

    The band’s name is “Redemption”. Redemption is a good word. It applies to me. If there is a god in heaven may he rain down more upon me, for that is my evolution, my rising up from amid this cesspit within which I had put myself, through my own opportunism and selfishness. My remaining duty is to try to make the world a better place and if I fail at that, at least I will have tried… redemption or no redemption.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    JDApostasy February 6, 2010 at 18:00
    I’m not going to comment on the general applicability of Durden’s thesis. What I will say is that I like where I’m at. I like knowing what I know, knowing that I’m right. It’s a good feeling, this achievement. It’s a good feeling, seeing the absurdity and laughing at it.

    That’s what these songs are ultimately building towards. Transcendence isn’t easy and it does not come cheap. I am in the same boat as you – I like knowing what I now know, and knowing that I am right. Stick around and read the rest of the analyses as they crop up over the next little while.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    J. Durden February 6, 2010 at 18:01
    ^ Whoops. Wasn’t logged in properly.

    Welmer February 6, 2010 at 23:37
    It’ll take a little getting used to (for me too). 🙂

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    J. Durden February 7, 2010 at 04:00
    Another track from this album, Scarred, actually ties into the Fullness of Time concept. I won’t quote all the lyrics, but here’s some of them:

    I am beaten but unbroken
    I am bloodied but unbowed
    And these years have left me shattered
    But I’ll make it through somehow
    I think that’s probably why
    I’ve been alone all my life
    I think that’s probably why
    I am lost and I’m scared that I can’t find my way
    I’ve spent half of my life trying to kill my demons
    And I’m frightened that the process
    May have turned me into one of them
    I’ve looked into the darkness of my personal abyss
    But I feel it staring back
    And it sees right through me
    Now I struggle to forget
    That I’ve always felt alone
    And I can’t escape the consequence
    Of being on my own

  2. Pingback: The Organization of "God" | In Search of Truth

  3. Pingback: Been pretty busy and unable to craft new Dead Men Tell No Tales, but have some older restored content! | In Search of Truth

Leave a Reply

